Cutting out at idle revs

For all technical questions. VIEWABLE without login, you need to register (free) to be able to post a question.
Post Reply
User avatar
notoriousgoz
Full Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2018 9:34 pm
Has thanked: 4 times

Cutting out at idle revs

Post by notoriousgoz » Thu Oct 03, 2019 9:41 pm

Any advice please , my v6 has started cutting out when at idle . I’ve adjusted the Rev speed screw so it’s not doing it but obviously the revs are now higher when stationery . Is there an underlying problem? The engine runs spot on

Incognito
Full Member
Posts: 545
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2018 9:27 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Cutting out at idle revs

Post by Incognito » Fri Oct 04, 2019 6:47 am

Strangely enough one of the more common reasons for this is the coolant level not being correct.

cpt black
Tech Rep
Posts: 590
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2018 8:28 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: Cutting out at idle revs

Post by cpt black » Fri Oct 04, 2019 8:11 am

Did you check the coolant level and adjust the
Revs with the diag box linked

mojo98
Area Rep
Posts: 947
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2018 10:52 pm
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Cutting out at idle revs

Post by mojo98 » Fri Oct 04, 2019 8:50 am

Pull your Codes,
my lazer did something similar few year back, turn our to be a crack in the air inlet pipe that fits onto the TB

User avatar
notoriousgoz
Full Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2018 9:34 pm
Has thanked: 4 times

Re: Cutting out at idle revs

Post by notoriousgoz » Fri Oct 04, 2019 9:38 am

Where do I get a code reader for a probe lol
I’ve got a canbus reader but the fitting is different
Last edited by notoriousgoz on Fri Oct 04, 2019 11:25 am, edited 1 time in total.

jrh
Full Member
Posts: 293
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2018 3:08 pm
Been thanked: 7 times

Re: Cutting out at idle revs

Post by jrh » Fri Oct 04, 2019 10:22 am

And just check all the 'mechanical' things work really nicely.
Make sure that the ball-race that runs in the slot of the throttle quadrant IS turning and not sliding in the slot.

cpt black
Tech Rep
Posts: 590
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2018 8:28 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: Cutting out at idle revs

Post by cpt black » Fri Oct 04, 2019 5:42 pm

As said check over for air leaks etc,to do base idle just link Ground and Ten in the
Diag box (when warm) and see wot it does then use the adjuster on the Throttle body screw to adjust
this will also tell if the TPS is out of line

User avatar
beegee
Full Member
Posts: 66
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2018 6:37 pm

Re: Cutting out at idle revs

Post by beegee » Fri Oct 04, 2019 8:33 pm

notoriousgoz wrote:
Fri Oct 04, 2019 9:38 am
Where do I get a code reader for a probe lol
I’ve got a canbus reader but the fitting is different

Image

Use a piece of insulated wire and an LED light.

Infiniti
Registered User
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Sep 28, 2019 7:46 am

Re: Cutting out at idle revs

Post by Infiniti » Sun Oct 06, 2019 3:40 pm

You can make a code reader out of a peice of wire and a bulb . I hard wired one into mine years ago and fitted a rocker switch under the steering wheel .

User avatar
notoriousgoz
Full Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2018 9:34 pm
Has thanked: 4 times

Re: Cutting out at idle revs

Post by notoriousgoz » Sun Oct 06, 2019 7:34 pm

Thanks for all the advice lads , I’ve topped up the coolant, no change, gonna check for leaks next , damn these dark nights !

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest