Remote locking - missing wire (!)

For all technical questions. VIEWABLE without login, you need to register (free) to be able to post a question.
Boysen IV
Full Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2018 1:59 pm
Has thanked: 2 times

Re: Remote locking - missing wire (!)

Post by Boysen IV » Fri May 01, 2020 8:42 pm

The good news is that we found the wire and the car locks and unlocks remotely :D

The bad news is that when it is unlocked remotely, the (factory) car alarm goes off immediately and has to be silenced by turning the key in the door to the unlock position, which rather defeats the point of the remote unlock.

I've was told earlier (in a PM) that I should disconnect the bonnet sensor otherwise the alarm will go off when I open the door. In this case, the alarm is going off before I open the door.

Is it still worth trying to disconnect the bonnet sensor?

Is there another wire to the alarm that we could tap into to disarm it? Perhaps I'd better look at the circuit diagrams ... :(

Thanks,

Jon G 24V
Tech Rep
Posts: 455
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2018 8:05 pm
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Remote locking - missing wire (!)

Post by Jon G 24V » Thu May 07, 2020 9:32 pm

Solution is when the Ford Alarm is dis-armed open the bonnet and disconnect the bonnet switch.
Car thinks the bonnet is always up and the Ford Alarm never sets again.
If you want an Alarm then you can have this as part of the Kit you buy for the Remote Locking.

Haulin
Full Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2018 12:43 pm
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Remote locking - missing wire (!)

Post by Haulin » Thu May 14, 2020 2:57 pm

There is a guide to keep the stock alarm working with aftermarket remote locking, installing just one relay. I don't know if this works like it should, haven't had any time to test it yet. It is in french, but google translate works fine.

http://www.wiki-ford-probe.com/index.ph ... _probe_16V

Haulin
Full Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2018 12:43 pm
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Remote locking - missing wire (!)

Post by Haulin » Mon May 18, 2020 10:46 am

Finally did the relay mod, the stock alarm indeed works. Relay is simulating the key in door lock "unlock motion". I recommend doing this. Sorry for double post, wanted to make sure that interested people see this.


Image

Boysen IV
Full Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2018 1:59 pm
Has thanked: 2 times

Re: Remote locking - missing wire (!)

Post by Boysen IV » Sun May 24, 2020 3:58 pm

Thanks to both the above replies.

In the short term, I will take Jon's advice but when I have a moment, I will fit a relay so it all works properly. Knowing insurance companies, disabling the alarm will void the insurance!

Thanks, Peter

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests