Speed sensor

For all technical questions. VIEWABLE without login, you need to register (free) to be able to post a question.
Post Reply
User avatar
Scooby
Full Member
Posts: 420
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2018 11:49 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Speed sensor

Post by Scooby » Mon Mar 09, 2020 2:03 pm

Hi all,

I noticed yesterday that my speedo wasn't working, and neither was the cruise control.

With both having gone, I'm assuming my speed sensor is faulty (unless there's a fuse somewhere I don't know about???)

Anyway, does anyone know where I can find said sensor to replace it? I've got a breaker so should have a spare, but I've never done it so don't know where to look.
Member no: 227
Location: Banks, Nr Preston, Lancs.
Drives: 2x 24V - Japha and Chewie
Image

mojo98
Area Rep
Posts: 1607
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2018 10:52 pm
Has thanked: 6 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: Speed sensor

Post by mojo98 » Mon Mar 09, 2020 2:52 pm

Take the air box and pipework on TB, then look down and the rear of your gearbox, you will find it believe it has a 2 wire connection,

cpt black
Tech Rep
Posts: 1169
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2018 8:28 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: Speed sensor

Post by cpt black » Mon Mar 09, 2020 3:27 pm

Give it a good soaking in wd40 to aid release as the bolt tends to snap and the
sensor jams be careful as if the sensor snaps your be in for some grief ;)

jrh
Full Member
Posts: 603
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2018 3:08 pm
Been thanked: 15 times

Re: Speed sensor

Post by jrh » Mon Mar 09, 2020 5:33 pm

You could try disconnecting the two wires going to the cruise control module first. They are in parallel with the speedo'.
If the 'speedo' works again then it's the module at fault.

User avatar
Scooby
Full Member
Posts: 420
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2018 11:49 am
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Speed sensor

Post by Scooby » Tue Mar 10, 2020 9:30 am

Ah, just wondering if I may have inadvertently caused this when I fitted my CAI if it's under the air box.
Member no: 227
Location: Banks, Nr Preston, Lancs.
Drives: 2x 24V - Japha and Chewie
Image

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests