Can i simply replace my ABS Control Module ?

For all technical questions. VIEWABLE without login, you need to register (free) to be able to post a question.
JoeJoe173
Registered User
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 24, 2020 7:01 pm

Can i simply replace my ABS Control Module ?

Post by JoeJoe173 » Fri Jan 24, 2020 10:57 pm

Hi All,

New Member here!
I have a V6 Probe, which i have been trying to get through a MOT for a long time now (Don't even ask about it).

My Garage doesn't really know much about this car, so i'm having to do most of the research and/or investigating into problems.

I have 2 Big issues left, 1 being Emissions! and the other being ABS! (Emissions can wait for now).

So, i've managed to get the ABS codes, which are 11, 12, 13, 14 and 61.
I've read somewhere this might be caused by a faulty ABS Control Module ?

So here comes my question: Can i easily, simply take out the ABS control module and insert a new one ?
Or is it more complex than what i'm thinking (I'm hoping for Plug and Play).

Thanks,
Joe :)

cpt black
Tech Rep
Posts: 660
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2018 8:28 am
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: Can i simply replace my ABS Control Module ?

Post by cpt black » Sat Jan 25, 2020 4:57 am

HI Joe
Sounds like the module is shot as you have all four sensors picked up and the module
the module is behind the rear passenger seat panel(not boot panel) just below the quarter glass
As for emissions make sure you give the car a good drive to get the CAT nice and hot as they are
quite lazy & put some cataclean in the fuel a week before hand

jrh
Full Member
Posts: 316
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2018 3:08 pm
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Can i simply replace my ABS Control Module ?

Post by jrh » Sat Jan 25, 2020 9:12 am

In the early '94ish probes the ABS wheel sensors can get crushed to death in their cans by corrosion .
Not so likely on later models because of a design change to prevent that problem.

MikeyG
Full Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2018 6:01 pm
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: Can i simply replace my ABS Control Module ?

Post by MikeyG » Sun Jan 26, 2020 2:28 am

I got the same error codes and replacing the abs module with one off Ebay (about 30 quid) fixed it. It's in the rear passenger door, behind the speaker. At least it is for 93 - 97'.

Kit
Tech Rep
Posts: 733
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2018 8:16 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Can i simply replace my ABS Control Module ?

Post by Kit » Sun Jan 26, 2020 11:51 am

Is this what you want :?:
Image

Image

Image
MickeyG has set the special Forum Member price for this item, £30 posted.

So if you want it to give it a go to clear your codes.
Please PM your address, drop £30 into my PayPal account janddthomas@btinternet.com
It will posted out to you

Kit

JoeJoe173
Registered User
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 24, 2020 7:01 pm

Re: Can i simply replace my ABS Control Module ?

Post by JoeJoe173 » Sun Jan 26, 2020 5:50 pm

Hi all,

Thanks for the infromation!
I'll take a look at pulling out the old ABS Module, and getting a replacement.

I'll update once replaced, and see where we are.

Thanks,
Joe

Incognito
Full Member
Posts: 620
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2018 9:27 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Can i simply replace my ABS Control Module ?

Post by Incognito » Sun Jan 26, 2020 6:22 pm

Kit wrote:
Sun Jan 26, 2020 11:51 am
Is this what you want :?:
Image

Image

Image
MickeyG has set the special Forum Member price for this item, £30 posted.

So if you want it to give it a go to clear your codes.
Please PM your address, drop £30 into my PayPal account janddthomas@btinternet.com
It will posted out to you

Kit
Excellent deal for any forum member 8-)

Kit
Tech Rep
Posts: 733
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2018 8:16 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Can i simply replace my ABS Control Module ?

Post by Kit » Mon Jan 27, 2020 8:56 pm

Hi Joe,

Thank you for the funds

Sorry, I didn't get home today, to get to the post office in time. It's all packaged up ready to go :D

But I have asked Elland 57 (or better known as Jan), to drop it into the post office tomorrow.

Kit

Kit
Tech Rep
Posts: 733
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2018 8:16 pm
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 11 times

Re: Can i simply replace my ABS Control Module ?

Post by Kit » Tue Jan 28, 2020 5:19 pm

Elland 57, did her bit :)

Package posted this morning

Kit

JoeJoe173
Registered User
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 24, 2020 7:01 pm

Re: Can i simply replace my ABS Control Module ?

Post by JoeJoe173 » Tue Jan 28, 2020 7:07 pm

Thank you! And Elland!
I'll keep an eye out for it, and let you know once i have it.

Thanks,
Joe

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: mojo98 and 1 guest